Roasted a blend of Ethiopia and Brazil

Posted: July 4, 2011 in coffee roasting
Tags: ,

Celebrating the Independence of the United States of America today with grilling some burgers and roasting some coffee with my grown son.

I prepared a 3 pound batch of (2# 5oz) Ethiopia Wet Process Wollego Leka Wego and (11oz) Brazil Dry Process Moriana.
I had a nice even slow curve to ramping through first crack, dropped the heat for a minute or so, and brought it back up to get three minutes from start of first crack to end of roast with just a hint of second crack.
It looks great!
I used my RK drum in my old Santa Fe propane grill, monitored with my cheapie chinese USB thermocouple monitor and used Stopwatch on my iPhone to time it.

Roast graph

Roast

My son was my hands again to remove the three pounds of smoking beans though my arm is perhaps tough enough to handle it soon.

Leave a Reply

